VOD Fridays – FUNimation Channel (8/13)

Happy Triskaidekaphobia! To some, the #13 is a magic number. To others, just another number. Today it just happens to be a VOD refresh day. Lots of things are cooking at the channel. Good things. The channel and FUNimation Entertainment are pretty excited about what’s ahead for next month. Two things are for certain – expansion and HD. xD

We have chosen the winners of our anime prize packs and HDTV set and just waiting for them to confirm before we can announce. You can still try to win an anime prize pack each month by visiting the Get FUNimation Channel site.Β Just fill in your details and you are in it to win it! You are also helping us expand the channel on more systems.

Last week, Comcast is undergoing some changes to their server structure that houses all VOD content. Some cities will show less content than others for now but as they increase capacity, the offerings will also increase. We will re-air some series that were affected at a later date.

Here’s what’s up on Comcast VOD:

  • Corpse Princess eps 1 – 4 (episode 1 is a Freeview)
  • Soul Eater eps 50 – 51
  • My Bride is a Mermaid eps 10 – 13
  • Case Closed ep 92
  • Nana ep 19
  • Honey and Clover ep 8
  • Baccano! ep 11
  • Tsubasa Chronicle eps 43 – 44
  • Full Metal Panic! The Second Raid eps 1 – 2
  • Monster ep 30
  • Bamboo Blade ep 20
  • Kenichi eps 19 – 24 (series will re-air in Oct)
  • Escaflowne eps 19 – 20

To see what’s up on the linear, 24/7 channel – jump to the FUNimation Channel site for the grid. We will drop little hints here and there on the blog, on Facebook and on Twitter regarding the changes ahead. We want to congratulate our 1,000th Facebook person – Kimaly Ann Tarter from Arkansas. Kimaly – you will receive a gift from the channel soon. πŸ™‚ Imagine what we could give away to the 2,000th person on Facebook. And we’re almost about to reach 1,000 followers on Twitter. We’ll try to put together something nice for that 1,000th Twitter follower.

I owe you guys pics. When I get a moment, I’ll post some stuff from cons and HQ.

17 comments on “VOD Fridays – FUNimation Channel (8/13)”

  1. Woo! First to comment.

    Theres a couple of things I want to say. 1)Do you plan on putting the Funimation TV Channel on comcast? I actually had a dream a while ago that Comcast got the channel. I hope my dream will become reality.lol 2)How are you going to put the Hetalia eps on VOD because I’m sure no one wants to pay to watch something thats 5 mins long. 3)Do plan on having some more non-Funi titles on VOD and the channel like Vampire Knight, Haruhi Suzumiya, Lucky star and others? Please let me know.

    • @sugaralchemist27
      Here are the answers: 1) Yes, we plan on expanding FUNimation Channel linear on Comcast. One day your dream and the dream of millions will come true. 2) Hetalia eps will be strung together to make up a 60 min program. It will become available next week on VOD under FUNimation Platinum/Specials folder. 3) Yes. I can’t say what titles yet. Sorry.

  2. Ah, yes, I hve a question. I won one of the anime prize packs, however, at this time, I’m unable to claim it. Would it be alright if my mother did so for me? i understand 100% if this isn’t possible.

  3. does expansion mean dish network?

  4. Yes, I did recieve an email from him.

  5. Thank you FUNImation_Channel. I’m going to tell my uncle about the channel so he could DVR some of the shows for me. πŸ™‚

  6. I’m still keeping my fingers crossed on the expansion means it coming to Cablevision but I won’t hold my breath.

  7. The link for Get FUNimation Channel does not us to the proper site.

    On the ‘Get FUNimation Channel’ site, ads for ‘Spice and Wolf’, ‘Baccano’, ‘Shigurui’, ‘Basara’ & ‘Eden Of East’ are saying that these shows are coming soon the FUNimation Channel, does that mean for the linear channel or for VOD?

  8. I hope something good comes and that is why I have my fingers crossed. πŸ™‚ I would to dvr stuff from Funimation channel. I do that for any anime on now pretty much including speed grapher on IFC so I don’t miss an episode. So if we get linear would be cool but I can’t get my hopes up because it’s still cablevision.

  9. Very excited now FUNi channel! Glad to know it will be on Comcast, I had the exact same dream! Any idea if we will get it before years end, or maybe even before winter πŸ˜†

  10. Ah, the joy of living in a location with a third-rate cable company. I live in Houston, which is primarily Comcast (lucky people), but of course this area of the city only has some company noone has ever heard of

    Suddenlink – Nobody knows we existβ„’

  11. Will you consider doing a simulcast of new case closed episodes?

  12. I know this might not be the right place to ask this but you seem to answer people here at least.

    Anyway, here we go – Why do you insist in blocking your website to your European customers? I understand why you don’t allow your videos to be viewed outside the US but not even letting many of your customers visit your site is completely ridiculous. It just feels like you are laughing at our backs and is it that funny to increase the piracy of your products just so you can have fun busting kids?

    A decent respond here or by email would be appreciated.

    Regards,
    Tom


Leave a Reply

