VOD Fridays – FUNimation Channel (1/22)

This morning I woke up to the surprise that one of my fave bands has their first single “Rocket” on sale in some countries but not here in the US. WTF? But thanks to some folks there is a full track streaming out there on the wild interwebs. I can’t post a link but can only point you to the bands message board and you can find it from there…if you are curious πŸ˜‰

Looking at the single’s album cover reminded me of some anime titles out there. I just can’t place which one though. I mean, the singer Alison Goldfrapp is shooting a laser outta her hand. See…

And what does this have anything to do with anime? Absolutely nothing. I thought to share with you my morning and let you know where my head is at. BTW, the song reminded me to look forward to Oh! Edo Rocket because the song made me think so. πŸ˜€

Ok. Now that I got that outta my system… Last week Jb correctly guessed that we will air Evangelion 1.11 in February on Comcast VOD. Good job! Another change on the VOD menu will happen starting in February. We are designating which titles are free and which ones are PPV VOD. The free titles will be under the folder titled FUNIMATION FREE while the PPV VOD will be under the folder titled FUNIMATION PLATINUM. The new structure will look something like this:

THE CUTTING EDGE —>Funimation Anime –>Funimation Free

THE CUTTING EDGE —> Funimation Anime –>Funimation Platinum

Here’s what’s up on Comcast VOD for 1/22:

As always, for the latest on when your favorite anime is on linear TV, jump to the sked to get the latest info.

I will leave you with this parting chorus… “Oooohh, oohhh, oh! I got a rocket! Oooh, oh, oh! You’re going on it! Oooh, oooh, oh! You’re never comin’ back…”


4 comments on “VOD Fridays – FUNimation Channel (1/22)”

  1. I check here every Friday looking for new updates with the linear channel and keep hoping that you will shuffle things up a bit. You guys have so much content but have been broadcasting only a small fraction of it. Here are some suggestions:

    1) The idea of showing more adult oriented anime late at night is a good one, but you’ve been milking Basilisk and Beck for over a year now. This block should be rotated every few months with shows like shigurui.

    2) Do we really need to play the same episode of peach girl 3 times a day? There should be a little more variety through the course of the day. I understand that you don’t want to hurt your DVD sales by broadcasting everything for free, but a little more exposure may actually improve those sales. I own most of the DBZ bricks in large part due to initially being exposed to that that show on TV.

    3) You need to establish some sort of time block that is the go to time for new stuff similar to AdultSwim saturday nights or Syfy monday nights. The new episode of NANA and Honey & Clover every week is cool, but block them together with perhaps a couple of other premiers and make something like tuesday night be your night.

    • @davivman – Thanks for your comments and suggestions.

      FYI to all – there will be a major change to the linear scheduling as well as the channel itself in the coming months. Changes are coming.

  2. I hope you mean as in finally brining the channel to Comcast, even if it is on the digital channels πŸ˜‰ Also sweet, can’t wait to watch 1.11 early! I think I am still going to buy it though for the extra features!

  3. Is Solty Rey gonna get anymore love on the vid portal beyond the 1st 4 eps?


Leave a Reply

